A Quick One While I’m Away

I guess it is that time again. No, not school, though I have plenty there to keep me busy. This appointment might be far worse. Yesterday, in my U.S. History II class, one of my students asked me if I was going to get THAT book. I asked which book he meant. “The new Dan Brown book,” he replied. I had forgotten it was even coming out. Yipes. I remember what I went through with the last Dan Brown book…The rational part of me looks upon this as an opportunity to educate, and for that I want to thank Brown for stirring up people’s interest in history. The cynical part of me wonders if anyone even wants to learn the truth when faced with the showy, exciting, and false world of hero Robert Langdon, and for that I want to curse Brown for stirring up people’s interest in “history.” Magistra et Mater has recently posted a nice series on historical fiction. I won’t go into it here, because I want you to check out her site (you will find the link in my blogroll), but she has some interesting things to say on the subject. Me? I won’t be reading the book anytime soon, if at all, but I will gamely answer the queries of my friends and students, explaining once again that the truth is far more exciting than fiction, and go back to the solace of reading Michael McCormick’s “The Origins of the European Economy” for my thesis. Who says history is boring!

Leave a Reply

